Delano Community Education, Delano Minnesota

Order 
Status:

1

Browse
Catalog

2

Log
In

3

Complete
Form(s)

4

Review
Cart

5

Make
Payment

6

Print
Receipt

 

Drivers Education Classroom Instruction

> ages 14.5 +

Thirty hours of classroom instruction are required before a student is eligible for behind-the-wheel instruction. Students should be 14 - 1/2 years old in order to take classroom instruction. After completion of the classroom instruction, students may register with Westonka Driving School or another school of their choice for behind the wheel instruction. There is an additional cost for behind the wheel. When students register for behind the wheel, they will receive a blue card, which will enable them to go and take the written permit test at state exam stations.

A make up day is available by attending a class in a future session or a nearby community.

Rob Illies, Jerry Litfin, & Mitch Rue, Westonka Driving School

Monday - Friday, October 30 - November 10
3:15 - 6:16p | $115 | #7025-F1
Delano Fire Station Meeting Room

Mondays & Thursdays, Jan 4, 8, 11, 16 (Tues), 18, 22, 25, 29, Feb 1 & 8
6:30 - 9:30p | $115 | #7025-W1
Tiger Activity Center Classroom



Safe Communities of Wright County Parent-Teen Class for Driver Education
Effective January 1, 2015, new Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) laws went into effect in Minnesota. One of the new requirements is that every driver under the age of 18 who completes behind the wheel instruction and is testing for a provisional driver’s license must submit a driving log.

Parents / guardians have two options regarding the supervised driving log:
  • Complete a supplemental parent class provided by a driver education program approved in Minnesota, and then submit a supervised driving log showing their teen has completed at least 40 hours of supervised driving, 15 of which are nighttime hours; OR
  • If the parent/guardian chooses to not complete the supplemental parent class, the driving log must show that their teen has completed at least 50 hours (3,000 minutes) of supervised driving, 15 (900 minutes) of which are nighttime hours.

This Safe Communities program meets the state requirements for the parent class and will explain in detail specific changes enacted to keep your teen safe behind the wheel.
Date choices – You can attend any Safe Communities program held before your child goes for their actual driving exam. Attendance strongly recommended for both the parent and the teen .

Upcoming dates:
This program is included in the Driver Ed Classroom fee

Monday, November 13
6:30 - 8:00p
Middle School Auditorium

Monday, March 12
6:30 - 8:00p
Middle School Auditorium